Current Project Log


This article provides a quick overview of my ongoing projects, documenting their progress and completion since the inception of this website in 2024. Click on the links below to explore each project further. For more detailed exploration of overall topics, navigate using the links on the left in the navigation bar.


an image of a finger used to emphasize the title

2024 Projects

   

I have several creative and professional projects in progress this year:


Filmmaking


My Little Robot Son: Episodes 6-8

Little Robot faces away from us on a bed framed in a heart with little clouds animated behind him

"Good night!" - Little Robot

In filmmaking, my focus continues on My Little Robot Son, a web series I create, co-write, and act in. This project has been ongoing since 2020, progressing slowly due to extensive time and resource requirements for post-production and filming. I am currently editing Episode 6 and planning the preproduction for Episode 7. Episode 8, the final episode of the season, has already been written. Would be nice to have it all done in 2025, but we'll see...


Grape Flavored Water Slides: Season 2

This is a continuation of a web series I began with frequent collaborator Casey Poma of Cat Cat Productions back in 2010. We filmed the second season of Grape Flavored Waterslides sometime in 2017 before I moved to San Diego to pursue my graduate education. Now, years later, I have started editing this footage. Organizing and defining the purpose of much of the footage, shot without a script and relying heavily on improvisation and on-the-fly decisions, has posed a significant challenge years later with the edit.


48 Hour Film Festival

Joining up with the First Drafts Production team to create a film in 48 hours. Will add a link when I can share the project we completed over the weekend of July 12-14th 2024.


Other Collaborations

Although these projects may not have featured articles, I am currently engaged in long-term collaborations. I am working with my friend Kevin to develop a proof of concept for an anime show. I'm also actively supporting my wife and frequent collaborator Carly in the development of a script.


Teaching


Romance Film Course

I teach a film class each semester at SDSU starting in 2022. During the Fall, it focuses on Horror, while in the Spring, it shifts to Romance. The Romance class offered in Spring 2024 was a successful debut. I am currently preparing for the third iteration of the horror class for Fall 2024, making adjustments based on previous experiences to refine the course.


Art


Collaging

I'm finding it increasingly challenging to find time for my art, but I do have the goal of photographing or scanning some pieces I never put up on Instagram this year.


Web Design

As evident on this website, I have a deep appreciation for HTML and the personalized aesthetic of 90s and 00s websites. This site will be updated whenever I find time. Furthermore, I am actively engaged in updating the Cat Cat Productions website, where you can see even more wild creative choices. I have an idea for fixing up the navigation of the Brat Snack web page and also finishing the last bit of content for it, "Blairs Journal."

Current progress on these projects


  • 7-15-24: I spent 4 hours exploring a new tool called Top Hat to create my first week's module, which includes polling and interactive questions for students to respond to.
  • 7-08-24: Spent 4 hours outlining the course for the Romance class. I am incorporating new movies and figuring out where to arrange everything to make sense. I'll provide more updates on this throughout the summer.
  • DATE: More Updates Coming Soon!